Introductions, part 2

Hi everyone,

I am Matthew Calcagni and I am going to talk about my hobbies and clubs that I am involved in at my college.

My hobbies are going to the movies and renting movies, video games, skiing, and occasionally going scuba diving. I first discovered my interest in scuba diving when I was in the Boy Scouts. I was at a summer camp for the Boy Scouts and they had a scuba diving demonstration and I have enjoyed doing it when I can since.

I took the scuba diving course two years ago at my college during the fall semester. At the end of the course I received my beginner scuba diving certification papers and ID card which means that I am now a certified scuba diver.

This year I traveled down to Belize in January with a January Term class from my college. The name of the course was Fishing and Scuba Diving in Belize. On this trip I got to make my first series of dives since I got my scuba diving certification card. The dives were great and I got to see a hawksbill sea turtle and 5 nurse sharks on one of the dives.

The main group that I participated in throughout middle school and high school was I was a member of the Boy Scouts of America. I reached the rank of Eagle, which is the highest rank attainable in Scouts in my sophomore year of high school. I am very proud of accomplishing this as less than three percent of people in Boy Scouts attain the rank of Eagle due to the necessary amount of time, dedication, and requirements needed to get the rank.

The groups that I am involved in at my college
now are I am a member of a co-ed community service fraternity called Alpha Phi Omega, and a Christian religious group called Intervarsity Christian Fellowship.

Alpha Phi Omega was founded on the same ideals that founded the Boy Scouts of America. I learned that former presidents Bill Clinton and George Bush Sr. were members of Alpha Phi Omega during their time in college.

That is all about me for today.

One Response

  1. Very neat. How exactly did you get this “internship” you speak of working in the NBC 4 Office itself?

    I’m another D.C. Scene Writer and i would very much like to be working in an office where I can learn in an environment and have somewhere to go during the day so i’m somewhat jealous of you on that front. I’d like to be able to work in an office

Leave a Reply

