A mythical "Friends" experience on the metro

I was on the metro the other day, walking back from the Anacostia station from a job interview at around 3 p.m., where I saw 6 people board the metro. They all went to sit in the same section of the train, and were exchanging inside jokes, laughing, and having a gay old time together. They were probably people who worked together because they were all dressed in business casual but it must have been a wonderful place to work.

Suddenly, I was jealous of these people. How rare is it to be part of a group of friends in adulthood? I have friends from the two colleges I went to, from high school, from the ski club I’m in, or from a job, but they’re scattered and usually they’re too busy to hang out because they’re always working (whereas I’m usually not working or not working as many hours).

These people looked like you could write a sitcom about them. In fact, I think that’s why sitcoms like “Friends” became so popular because groups like that don’t exist in real life and as adults, we desperately want that. Our dating lives and quest to get married as young, single people out of college is still present, but we do not have those same networks of friends that we used to. If you do have a good network of friends, be thankful for that.

5 Responses

  1. that’s kind of sad. why don’t you go out more often?

  2. agreed.
    perhaps you should get some friends….if that fails, try speed dating.

  3. You should join the DC Scene bowling league.

  4. I was thinking that I’d love to get on board speed dating but don’t know where to find it.

  5. I usually speed date through thingstododc.com. They have all sorts of speed dating events listed by age group.

Leave a Reply

